Planes, Trains, and Automobiles

The first half of spring break is over and I’m finally en route to New York City. But, like most trips, I have to take some detours along the way. It seems like vacations never really begin with the destination you intend to visit.

I boarded a train to St. Louis this afternoon amidst unseasonably warm weather for March. I hope it stays warm while I’m in New York but apparently there’s a snow storm coming in and its supposed to snow here in St. Louis tonight. If there’s one thing you should never trust about the Midwest, it’s the weather.

Also Kansas.

Train to St. Louis

Sunset from the train.

I actually really love train rides. This was my third time taking the train. Train rides are infinitely better than going places by car or by plane. First off, you don’t have to drive and you can do things like spend four hours playing Pokemon instead of studying. Second, it’s never even halfway full so you have room to stretch your legs and make a huge mess of the seat next to you. Also, apparently now Amtrak has free wifi? Which is basically the best thing to ever happen to my phone.

But seeing as I will be spending spring break traveling through nearly all forms of transportation (excluding by boat and perhaps bicycle), I can’t get too comfortable because I have hours and hours of airports and layovers ahead of me. So, in a way, I’m relieved that I get to have an extended vacation in St. Louis tonight with my roommate and relax before jumping right into my hectic New York vacation tomorrow. Before I met Grace, I had only been to St. Louis in passing. Now, I’m basically in love with the city.

And, of course, no trip to St. Louis would be complete without Ted Drewes.

Ted Drewes

The most delicious ice cream EVER.

This is mecca of all ice cream visits. You think you’ve had a concrete? You think you like sundaes? You think ice cream is only acceptable as dessert? The first time you eat at Ted Drewes, you will question all of that. I’m lucky I don’t live in St. Louis because I would probably eat there every day, all the time. Or at least once a week. You know. Something like that.

Let me put this in perspective for anyone who has never been there before: Today, I got a special concrete called The Big Apple. I thought it was very appropriate given the circumstances. I had no idea what would be in it, I just picked it based on the name. The first bite was a warm, soft chunk of crumbly pie crust and a candied, cinnamon coated apple piece in a huge spoonful of vanilla ice cream. Literally there was a slice of fresh apple pie in this concrete. I nearly swooned. It was heavenly.

 Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit. But I hadn’t eaten anything since lunch, and my train ride was over four hours long. Either way, Ted Drewes is still amazing.

I’m happy to have had this delicious detour, but tomorrow begins my (actual) adventure. It’s going to be my first visit to New York ever, and I’m so excited I can’t sleep. I’ve already got a list of things I want to do and I hope I can finish it all in the limited amount of time I’m there. I’ll be sure to update tomorrow! See you in New York!

Leave a Reply

